Beth El Board of Directors

Officers of the Board

President – Deborah Segaloff

Deborah (Deb) Bernstein Segaloff was born and raised in the Meadowbrook Terrace neighborhood of Norfolk, nicknamed Little Israel in the 1970s and 80s. As a young child, she attended the Hebrew Academy of Tidewater on Thompkins Lane and was active in many Jewish youth organizations. Deb has worked as a Jewish professional and lay leader for over 25 years, including past president of the Hebrew Academy and past chairman of the Holocaust Commission of the United Jewish Federation of Tidewater. Deb also served on the Council of Human Rights for the Commonwealth of Virginia for 2 terms. Deb enjoys her family—daughters Sabine and Emma and her husband Peter, as well as painting, cooking, walking, reading, and her involvement with Beth El. She values and appreciates the warmth and caring of the Beth El community.  You can email Deb at

Vice President – Herman Shelanski

Herman Shelanski retired as a Vice Admiral in the United States Navy after 38 years of dedicated and honorable service. Throughout his career he has lead at many levels. His most significant and satisfying leadership experience was as the Captain in command of the USS Harry S Truman (CVN 75), a nuclear powered aircraft carrier during a wartime deployment. He finished his career as the Naval Inspector General. Originally from Wynnewood, PA, he is a second generation American descended from Lithuanian Jews. Herm has dedicated two Holocaust Torahs on two Aircraft Carriers and celebrated Judaism at sea and during his travels around the world. He is married to Patty, and they have two children, Alex and Gabby, both of whom were educated and Bar and Bat Mitvahed at Beth El. You can email Herman at

Vice President – Barbara Rossen

Barbara Rossen grew up in Norfolk. When her family arrived here from California, they went to B’nai Israel in order to be with her grandparents, who were members there. Although two of her brothers had their Bar Mitzvahs there, Barbara used to sneak over to Beth El during the holidays to be with her cousin. As a girl she was not expected or encouraged to study for a Bat Mitzvah. After the “gentrification of Ghent”, her Grandparents moved from 19th Street and her family joined Beth El. When she first married in 1974, she and her husband became members of Beth El. Her two sons and her daughter attended Beth El Religious school and each celebrated their B’nai Mitzvot at Beth El. Barbara studied and finally became a Bat Mitzvah with an adult class of 10 in 2008. She has served as Sisterhood Co-President and is currently our 5th grade Religious School Teacher.  You can email Barbara at

Immediate Past President

  • Alex Pomerantz


  • Avraham Ashkenazi
  • Clay Barr
  • Marvin Friedberg
  • Steven Gordon
  • Stuart Held
  • Jerry Kantor
  • Jay Kossman
  • Jody Wagner


  • Bernie Grablowsky


  • Mark Kozak


  • Beth Berman

Gabbai Representative

  • Ina Mirman Leiderman

Sisterhood Representative

  • DeAnne Lindsey

Men’s Club Representative

  • Bill Nossen

Past Presidents’ Representative

  • Neil Rose

Board Members

  • Beril Abraham
  • Brad Bangel
  • Michael Barkan
  • Beth Berman
  • Linda Bress
  • Ronnie Cohen
  • Howard Gordon
  • Sharon Goretsky
  • Bernie Grablowsky
  • Laura Gross
  • David Kamer
  • Aaron Kass
  • Michael Katz
  • Meryl Mulligan
  • Jim Noonan-Sloan
  • Neil Rose
  • Barbara Rossen
  • Linda Samuels
  • Carin Simon
  • Lonnie Slone
  • Carol Smith
  • Jenefer Snyder
  • Megan Zuckerman