High Holidays Happenings

 Prayer from Cantor Wendi & High Holiday Message from
Beth El President Alex Pomerantz

 Melody from Cantor Wendi & Pre-High Holiday Message
from Rabbi Ezring

Schedule of Services & Events

Friday, August 21 – High Holiday Webpage at www.bethelnorfolk.com
Shofar will be blown every day at morning and evening minyanim

Friday, August 21 – Kicking off Elul with Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Shofar:  Alan Wagner

Tuesday, August 25 – Thoughts of Elul posted to Website and Facebook.  To view video, click here.

Presenter:  Ashley Coleman

Shofar:  Alan Wagner

Friday, August 28 – Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Assimilating Loss into the New Year

Shofar:  Steve Kantor

Tuesday, September 1 – Back to Shul: Virtual Pizza and Family Fun Night 5:30PM

Friday, September 4 – Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook. To view video, click here.

Celebrating Heroes

Presenter:  Adam Foleck

Shofar:  Larry Rossen

Monday, September 7 – Responding to Growing Anti-Semitism 7:00PM live streaming, Zoom, and Facebook. To view video, click here.

Presenter:  Megan Zuckerman

Shofar:  Rabbi Yoni Warren

Wednesday, September 9 – Cooking Class:  Honey Cakes and Fish Cakes for Rosh Hashannah 7:00PM  ZOOM and Facebook (Print/download the Honey Cake and Fish Cake recipes from these links: https://bit.ly/32BJxK4 and https://bit.ly/2Rb0GU4)

Presenters: Rachel and Leila Abrams, Deb Segaloff

Saturday, September 12 – Selichot Night Live 8:30PM  (Register here)

Monday, September 14 – COVID19 and the New Year 7:00PM Live Streaming, Zoom, and Facebook.  To view video, click here.

Presenter:  Ellen Rosenblum

Shofar:  Jill Smith

Tuesday, September 15 – Thursday, September 17

Delivery of High Holiday Boxes to Members Homes

Friday, September 18 – Erev Rosh Hashannah and Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM

Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Saturday, September 19 – Rosh Hashannah 1st Day Morning Service 9:30AM Live streamRabbi Ezring’s Facebook PageCantor Wendi’s Facebook Page and Zoom (Passcode: 390602)

Family Services Special Program with Eliana Light 3:00 – 3:45PM. (To learn more about Eliana Light click here.  You can also download/print the Machzor here)

Rosh Hashannah 1st Day Evening Service 7:30PM Live streamRabbi Ezring’s Facebook PageCantor Wendi’s Facebook Page, and Zoom (Passcode: 065244)

Sunday, September 20 – 2nd Day Rosh Hashannah Morning Service 9:30AM Live streamRabbi Ezring’s Facebook PageCantor Wendi’s Facebook Page and Zoom (Passcode: 420872)

Family Services Special Program with Eliana Light 3:00-3:45PM. (To learn more about Eliana Light click here.  You can also download/print the Machzor here)

Tashlicht 5:30 at the Hague in Ghent

2nd Day Rosh Hashannah Evening Service 7:30PM Live streamRabbi Ezring’s Facebook PageCantor Wendi’s Facebook Page, and Zoom (Passcode: 669607)

Tuesday, September 22 – Open Ark Visits. See website to sign-up with Sign-Up Genius

Wednesday, September 23 – Being Mortal Book Club 12:00 pm Discussion with psychologist, Louse Lubin  12 noon Zoom and Facebook

Discussion with Psychologist Dr. Louise Lubin

Thursday, September 24 – Open Ark Visits. See website to sign up with Sign Up Genius

Friday, September 25 – Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

The New Year and Repentence

Presenter:  Jody Laibstain

Sunday, September 27 – Kol Nidre 6:30 PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Monday, September 28 – Yom Kippur 9:30AM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Afternoon readings on Memories from the Holocaust

Presenters:  Michel Ashe, Herm Shelanski, Sheila Drucker and Linda Peck

Zoom and Facebook

Wednesday, September 30 – Cooking Class:  Sweet and Savory Kugels for Sukkot 4:00PM

Live on ZOOM and Facebook

Presenter: Kathy Kantor

Friday, October 2 – Erev Sukkot and Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Saturday, October 3 – Sukkot/Shabbat 9:30AM and 7:00 pm Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Sunday, October 4 – Sukkot 9:30AM and 7:00 pm Live streaming, Zoom, and Facebook

Monday, October 5 – Family Havdallah and Fun in the Sukkah (time has not been decided)

Friday, October 9 – Erev Shemini Atzeret and Kabbalat Shabbat 5:45PM Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Saturday, October 10 – Shemini Atzeret 9:30AM and 7:00 pm Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Sunday, October 11 – Simchat Torah 9:30AM and 7:00 pm  Live streaming, ZOOM, and Facebook

Support Congregation Beth El’s Food Drive

Learn How You Can Help

 

Open Ark Program

In keeping with a High Holy Day tradition usually practiced during the Ne’ilah service, Congregation Beth El will open its doors to those members and their families who wish to spend a few moments before the open Ark in reflection or prayer.

Because of restrictions put in place to control and combat the spread of COVID-19,  protocols have been formulated to enable congregants to participate in this deeply moving ritual while safeguarding as much as possible the health and safety of those involved. One of the protocols we have put in place is for those wishing to take time before the open Ark must sign up for a specific 5-minute block.  You can click the button below to sign up. All additional protocols can be viewed here: here. The waiver can also be downloaded here.

 

Open Ark Program Sign Up

Family Fun

We have found some fun activities for your family to enjoy during the holidays. Click below to view them.

 

Fun Activities